Evolutionary Tree
What Are Fungi
What Fungi Do
Naming Of Fungi
Evolutionary Tree
The evolutionary tree shown is not complete it only shows the main divisions of the fungi kingdom and the family's that I have photos for. The major divisions are based upon the reproductive structures, and similarities in life cycles. As further research continues, their position within the evolutionary tree can change.
Kingdom: Fungi
  Division: Eumycota (septate fungi)
    Subdivision: Ascomycotina
      Class: Euascomycetes
        Subclass: Leotiomycetidae.
          Order: Helotiales
            Family: Bulgariaceae
Family: Cyttariaceae
Family: Leotiaceae
Family: Geoglossaceae
Family: Helotiaceae
Family: Vibrisseaceae
        Subclass: Pezizomycetidae
          Order: Pezizales
            Family: Discinaceae
Family: Pezizaceae
Family: Pyronemataceae
Family: Sarcoscyphaceae
Family: Sarcosomataceae
        Subclass: Pyrenomycetidae
          Order: Xylariales
            Family: Xylariacea
          Order: Hypocreales
            Family: Hypocreaceae
Family: Clavicipitaceae
          Order: Sordariales
            Family: Lasiosphaeriaceae
          Order: Eurotiales
            Family: Trichocomaceae
    Subdivision: Basidiomycotina
      Class: Hymenomycetes
        Subclass: Holobasidiomycetidae
(Homobasidiomycete Fungi)
(substantial mushrooms)
          Order: Agaricales
            Family: Agaricaceae
Family: Bolbitiaceae
Family: Clavariaceae
Family: Coprinaceae
Family: Cortinariaceae
Family: Entolomataceae
Family: Hydnangiaceae
Family: Marasmiaceae
Family: Pleurotaceae
Family: Pluteaceae
Family: Schizophyllaceae
Family: Strophariaceae
Family: Tricholomataceae
          Order: Boletales
            Family: Boletaceae
Family: Boletinellaceae
Family: Calostomataceae
Family: Gyrodontaceae
Family: Paxillaceae
Family: Rhizopogonaceae
Family: Sclerodermataceae
Family: Suillaceae
          Order: Cantharellales
            Family: Cantharellaceae
Family: Clavulinaceae
Family: Hydnaceae
          Order: Dacrymycetales
            Family: Dacrymycetales
          Order: Gomphales
            Family: Gomphaceae
Family: Hysterangiaceae
Family: Phallaceae
          Order: Hymenochaetales
            Family: Hymenochaetaceae
          Order: Polyporales
            Family: Ganodermataceae
Family: Gloeophyllaceae
Family: Meripilaceae
Family: Podoscyphaceae
Family: Polyporaceae
Family: Steccherinaceae
          Order: Russulales
            Family: Auriscalpiaceae
Family: Corticiaceae
Family: Hericiaceae
Family: Meruliaceae
Family: Rusulaceae
Family: Stereaceae
          Order: Thelephorales

Family: Bankeraceae
Family: Thelephoraceae

        Subclass: Phragmobasidiomycetidae
(Heterobasidiomycete Fungi)
          Order: Auriculariales
            Family: Auriculariaceae
          Order: Tremellales
            Family: Exidiaceae
Family: Tremellaceae
Family: Tremellodendropsidaceae
Subdivision: Deuteromycotina (imperfect fungi)
Fungi of this Subdivision lack a sexual stage and are consequently called the Fungi Imperfecti because their life cycles are "imperfect". Most reproduce by conidia. The majority are the microscopic moulds important as pathogens. Many fungal diseases that infect humans belong to this subdivision.
Subdivision: Zygomycotina (coenocytic fungi)
Are the only class of fungi whose mycelium is normally aseptate. Septate typically only form to delineate reproductive structures or to isolate damaged portions of mycelium. They reproduce by either sexual or asexual means and have simple reproductive bodies then Ascomycetes and Basidiomycetes. Most are moulds e.g. pin mould, as seen on bread.
Division: Lichens
A lichen is not a single organism, but rather it's a combination of two organisms which live together intimately. Most of the lichen is composed of fungal filaments, but living among the filaments are algal cells. See the Forest Lichen pages